Cheap/free/open-source mac software for video editing?

I’ve tried iMovie but it feels a little too dumbed down. I’d like to export things in 4:3 for instance, but iMovie only supports 16:9. Since I’m a beginner I’d rather not spend 300 dollars on a professional program.

Any recommendations?

I found https://shotcut.org/. Looks promising so far!

Iv been using olive video editor for years and think it is great - quite basic but does everything i need it to and has an intuitive interface (for me)

DaVinci Resolve

4 Likes

Thanks!

I’d have to retract my opinion on Shotcut – It crashed several times already for no apparent reason.

Will try Olive and DaVinci…

…sorry i was so short - usually i try to add a few words but did not have time yesterday…

…DaVinci has a very steep learning curve but can do a lot and beginning working with it for me the secret was to get just the basics done and only later touch the more advanced topics…

…what i found really helpful with DaVinci was that there are thousands of 2-3-minute-clips on Youtube answering questions about features and workflow very specific and compact so if a problem develops during an edit-session it is usually solved within minutes…

4 Likes

Gonna +1 Davinci Resolve. The free version is pretty full-featured and offers a lot of headroom to get fancy if that’s something you want later. As fairplay mentioned, the tutorials are ubiquitous and pretty easy to find.

3 Likes

I tend to jump between different open source video editors depending on my needs as each has their own up and downsides

Blender VSE
If you are already familiar with Blender this may be the easiest and most stable to use. It’s cross-platform and as stable as Blender (which is quite stable for me). However, there aren’t many effects and adding things like titles and anything beyond colour adjustments requires community addons or doing it in other software

Kdenlive