Feedback into capture card

Without backstory, I am curious if there’s any way to capture the beautiful creaminess of the feedback of an old ccd security camera pointed at a crt television properly with a capture card? For a bit more of a description of my situation and gear, read on!

Hello, I’m new to a lot of things involving video. A couple months back I found an Edirol v4 on eBay for $150 that needed some tlc, was able to fix it pretty simply, and started messing with that. Next, a friend recommended an inexpensive security camera for playing with crt feedback into the mixer, which I love. So while I used to use rescanning with my dslr, now there’s at least one security camera in the way so I bought a blackmagic ultrastudio 3g capture box (which is awesome, by the way) and then realized I needed to get an analog to digital converter so that I could hook up to it. So everything’s working as it should, I think, but no matter what I’ve got the capture card set on, instead of the lovely organic bubbly flickering around the edges of almost blown-out feedback, I get weird lines and artifacts. I know I could run blur on the captured video to get some of that back, but is that the only way? Any advice would be appreciated!

i would hazard a guess that the issue is in whatever you picked up to convert from analog to hdmi/sdi. try monitoring the output from your adc before it goes into the capture card to double check

1 Like

I’ll definitely check that. Can you recommend a good, accurate unit? I just picked this one up and could definitely still return it.