I introduce myself + first setup impression and tips

Hi, let me introduce myself, my name is Mirko and I am a visual artist who lives in Catania (Italy). I recently bought my first video mixer, a Panasonic WJ Ave 5. I would like to ask us a few things:

1 I don’t really understand if the mixer works perfectly, so far I have connected inputs and outputs to create feedback, but when I connect a DVD player to the source or a video camera the image becomes wavy, is this normal? in general, could you direct me to some threads to better understand how it works?

2 my set up for now is made up of this mixer which I use to create effects which I then overlay on other clips inside VDMX, what do you think about it? Could you give me advice on how to improve (even slightly) this set up? thank you very much ===

2 Likes

Awesome first piece of gear to go with, you can have a lot of fun just with the feedback on the ave-5! When you run a source into it and it becomes wavy, what’s happening (if you’re in mix not wipe) is the feedback is starting to affect the image. The video fader is just adjusting how much feedback is actually being let through. In my opinion, if you arnt planning on doing live setups anytime soon. I’d go with a mismatcher 01 or mismatcher petite from freedom enterprise (these are for getting the glitches). Or if you like doing stuff diy, look up karl klomps dirty video mixer. You can make it for probably like $5 in parts and it’s pretty useful and fun to use with feedback.

1 Like

Thank you very much, I was actually thinking of doing live shows with this set up:
panasonic that creates the feedback that acts as an overlay inside vdmx with other clips, what do you think? I was thinking of getting the petite, where should I integrate it? I’m still not clear on how to mix everything well

1 Like