Looking for advice

Hello all!

I’m Greg from Seattle/New York and looking for some advice for building what I want. I’m a musician and want to add video into my live performance rig. I’m looking specifically at using a Raspberry pi 4. (Someone gave me two! A 1 GB and 4GB model). Id like to make a simple player/controller for video with one of these and possibly capture live video via a piCamera or something similar. Ideally I’d like to keep it small. The last thing I need is more gear to haul around.

I came across the rPi wiki here and looked into r_e_c_u_r and waaave_pool which look like tools that would do what I’m looking for but also notice they dont currently work with rPi4. Do I have that correct? If that is correct can someone point me to some tools that might work with the RPi4? I’m new to raspberry pi but not video work. I’m pretty good at following directions!

I appreciate any help/advice!

Greg

1 Like

rpi 4s have a bit of an issue with the raspbian os and the baked in gl drivers that makes graphics based programming a bit of a giant issue, at least on my end of things! i would have difficulty recommending them for video processing tools until that issue gets resolved as i am unlikely to have much time for editing the kernel any time soon. just simply for video playback tho they should work fine (and in 4k!), id look into omx player and using .bashrc to set one up as a plug n play media player

Maybe Puredata/GEM? A cursory Google search didn’t turn up anything about GEM on a PI4 but if it works it might be a decent option that could take advantage of the Pi4’s extra processing power.

Hi Greg. Do you already have a plan/concept or any strong opinions about what you’re looking to do visually? I’d suggest you try to define a few things before you defining the setup, like

• do you expect your visuals to be strictly in sync or react to the audio signal? (“not necessarily” would make things easier)