Mainbow > Roland V-8 output is B&W

Hi, I am relatively new to video synthesis and I am running a variety of inputs into a Roland V-8 mixer with no issues. However, when I connect my Mainbow video synth to an input of the V-8, the output is black and white. What is weird is that the V-8 allows me to directly monitor the input and the Mainbow input monitor shows as color. There is something being lost internally between the input and the output of the V-8.

If I remove the V-8 from the middle, the Mainbow outputs to my monitor fine. If I put a Videonics M-1 mixer between the Mainbow and the V-8, the color is restored and everything is fine. But I don’t want to haul an extra mixer to a gig so I’m hoping I can track down the issue that is happening inside the V-8. Any thoughts?

Sounds like maybe one device is on Pal and the other ntsc? Worth a double check anyway

1 Like

The V-8 is very picky with the signals it will take. I have a home-built video synth that I think is similar in its guts to the Mainbow and I have the same issue with it going into my V8. The Videonics mixers (I have an MxPro) seem to be much more forgiving, and mine also will take my video synth signal and pass through the color no problem. Sorry that’s not a solution, but I don’t think it’s just you. I now have a rescan station with a camera pointed at a CRT so that I can get the full beauty of the synth because even the Videonics kind of dulls the output.

I had the same issue. I’m in the process of trying a few less noisy solutions, but the $20 soltion that’s currently working was sending the output to an av2hdmi, and then back to another hdmi2av before going into the v-8. I have a few other things i want to try though so i may have a better solution eventually.

Yep, same. Videonics MX-1 in the middle restores color but it definitely dulls the output.