Newbie Question: Roland Edirol v4 vs. v8

Hello everyone!

I just discovered this forum and this is my first post here. I’m so happy to have found a community of people who share a common interest.

I’m a beginner and I would like to get into video art. At this point I think I’ve essentially decided that I’d like to get an Edirol Mixer but I cannot decide which one so I am turning to you guys for help. What are the main differences? Is the v8 noticably better? What additional features does it have over v4 aside from more inputs? I tried searching for a comparison but I came up empty-handed.

If anyone else has any other suggestions of gear to have a look at (available in Europe please), I’m very much open to suggestions and discussion.

Thank you all for your time and I hope you are well :))

• pengu5055

cat full of ghosts made reviews about both of them:

1 Like

Hiya! Welcome to the club.

The main differences are the inputs/outputs, and the effects that are included. There’s a bunch of different transitions on the v8, including one that I wish I could remember but folks seem to like.

The reason I went with the v4 over the v8 (apart from cost) was that the connectors are on top, and are composite, rather than BNC. On the v8, the connectors are BNC style which means you’ll need appropriate cables (the adapters suck), and the cables will go out the back.

For my purposes, the v4 is a better live mixer, as I can cram more into a small table, and just use composite cables. For studio stuff/permanent setup in a video rig, the v8 would be better.

3 Likes

Thank you both for replying! :smiley:

I’ll be sure to watch through the videos as soon as I can to I can get a better understanding of both mixers. @amfas you mean video quality degrades when converting from BNC to Composite? There really aren’t any adapters that don’t suck? Currently I’m leaning towards the v8 but I’d like to use it with Composite so if that is the case the v4 might be more in order.