Next steps for me on waaave_pool!

I’m blown away by waaave_pool and all the other great software included on that image! Thank you @andrei_jay!! I’m thinking that this will be all I need to get out there on the road and do some gigs in the next half a year or so at least!! (And yes, I will do my best to transform my gratitude into tasty financial goodness at some point :slight_smile: )

To that end (live performance), I’m thinking of some simple hacks to get a useful live unit up and running. I’m a coder, although I don’t have experience of OF as yet. So I’m basically after someone with said experience to help me get up and running a bit quicker by simply pointing me in the right direction for implementing the solutions I’m after.

My two essential points I think are:

• MIDI Presets. Not necessarily as complicated as it might sound. But basically an option to press one of several buttons/keys (keyboard/GPIO) to send a bunch of MIDI commands to set up a “scene” in waaave_pool for a particular song performance.

• A GUI to activate any one of the installed apps (the ones typically found on a VSERPI). Instead of booting up into waaave_pool, I’d like to boot into a view with buttons that can be used to choose an app and then launch the script from there. Ideally returning to that app when leaving the launched app too. Basically I’m after not showing the RPI desktop at any point on the hdmi projector I’ll be using.

Again, just to be clear, I’m not asking someone to implement this for me, I would love to have a go at it myself. I’m just hoping that someone can save me some time by suggesting the right route to do these things. For example, would I be better off sending MIDI presets from say a specially designed MIDI hardware (eg. Midi hub) or better off implementing it on the PI (hopefully the latter). And for the other point, should I go for OF, or some other GUI approach…

Turned out to be quite a wordy post, oh well. Cheers.

2 Likes