Noob question -- Help with capture cards

Hello World, I am a beginner to video synthesis, and I am trying to learn about it. I create videos in my spare time, so I decided to pick up a video synthesizer by Statikstramentz. I am sending my video from my computer to HDMI2AV, then running the RCA cable into my video synthesizer, and then routing it back to the CRT TV. It shows the video and other stuff perfectly fine.

My problem now is that I’m not sure how to incorporate a capture card that would send the video from the CRT back into my computer to record. I was looking at the Elgato HD60s, but I still don’t know how I would implement that into my gear. I’m not even quite sure if the Elgato HD60s would even work with what I am trying to do. If someone could help me out with what capture cards to use (other than the blackmagic becuz im not rich like dat) I would appreciate it quite a lot. I’m trying to get 1080p or 4k. As I stated, I just don’t know how to incorporate the capture card into my gear, where would i plug these things in, and stuff like that. visuals would also help me A LOT lol

2 Likes

I put together several different wikis a long time ago that are helpful if you spend the time with them

https://scanlines.xyz/t/how-to-capture-video-wiki-stand-alone-or-otherwise/

https://scanlines.xyz/t/hardware-video-converters-scalers/

https://scanlines.xyz/t/analog-video-basics-wiki/

it sounds like you are trying to record a composite output from your gear…
are you going to want to monitor on the CRT as well as record at the same time?

you’d need a composite distribution amplifier for that

it sounds like you are looking at the elgato h60s…
it only accepts HDMI inputs so you would need a scaler if you intend on capture in 1080 or 4k.

Remember scalers aren’t magic even if you DID spend a lot of money going from SD > 4K is going to be pretty rough. Even if you did offline scaling via something like topaz labs.