Underscores two comparator effect pcb in a eurorack setup questions

Hello,

I’m really new to all this and was wanting to take the two comparator effect kit I got from underscores and mount it in a eurorack setup. I have a couple questions regarding this process.

Power - the tiptop audio thing I have has +5v right? Does that mean there is +5 power in the ribbon cable loom stuff used to power other modules? Can I splice some things together and power the comparator once I meter the pins and find the right ones? Or is it actually way more complicated than different lines in the ribbon cables carrying different voltage and +/- charges that can be used for the 5v source for the kit.

Face plate - plan was to make one out of plastic or aluminium. My question is what is used to connect the pcb to a face plate if the face place can’t be attached via pots/jacks similar to other module designs? Some kinda elbow bracket thing glued and screwed?

How have you all done something like this or what would you suggest doing?

Thanks a bunch for the help.

hi @JacobeFrezno

iv been thinking about the same thing recently…

if you want detailed info on these things you should check out this video i uploaded recently:

iv been designing some eurorack compatible front plates for these circuits:

the panel is mounted to the pcb using m3 screws and nuts… files for this are on the github page

and yes you should be able to take a 5v + gnd from your eurorack power supply (if it has it) and connect this to the circuit through the barrel_jack plug

let me knkw how it goes or if you have any more questions :slight_smile:

@cyberboy666 Thanks for sharing the video and your thoughts on adapting these devices. They look really cool.