VGA signal generators vs other alternatives, are there any? (DIY video synths)

Hi! Noob here :slight_smile:

When trying to find information about DIY video synths (not the commercial kits), I’m seeing the CHA/V -type circuit bent VGA signal generator designs everywhere, while alternatives seem to be nonexistent. So I’m just wondering, isn’t there any other ways to convert oscillator signals into video, maybe even straight to yPbPr or av composite? And if not why? In this case audio and video signals are anyway both analog and can use the same kind of rca-cables. In these VGA-conversion-based designs, is the point of the VGA signal generator to send it straight to RGB channels and make hsync and vsync easy, or is it a necessity in all video synthesis?

Thank you!

1 Like

I’m still learning a lot but whatever you do the horizontal/vertical sync pulses have to be there or the monitor, analog or digital, won’t know where to draw whatever. You could insert a signal into RGB but without the sync it’d just drift around on the screen, assuming you even get a screen because without sync the monitor won’t really know what to display.

The CHA/V uses the VGA board to generate sync and provide a way to get those signals in and gives you a lot of options in a relatively inexpensive way. As someone starting out as well, dealing with these sync signals seems to be the biggest headache and it doesn’t help that the standard has evolved over the past decade.

3 Likes

Ah yes, that makes sense! Thanks for the reply