Beginner guides and resources on live video glitch art

Hey everyone :wave: I am pretty new to the whole glitch / analog video world but have loved messing around so far.

I am less technical and more interested in the live aspect of video glitch art. Would love to see some resources on people running through their set ups for live visuals and what they use to achieve certain effects.

I am currently working with:

• Panasonic WJ-AVE5
  • 2 dirty video mixers (one of which I made myself)
  • 2 DVD players
  • CRT TV
  • Projector
  • Also just bought my first glitch device, the Videffektor by fluxmonkey

So i guess to summarise, these are the things I’d be interested in if anything comes to mind:

• Live set up rundowns
  • Device recommendations
  • DIY device recommendations for beginners
  • Any useful reading or videos on glitch art and electronics that helped you out

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Sounds like you’ve got plenty to start having some fun with analog glitchies! Luv the AVE-5, it’s got a good TBC that can handle dirty signals in an interesting way, and the internal feedback loop is classic. There’s too much gear out there at all different price/accessibility levels to recommend any piece in particular, but one handy piece of kit that is always great for experimentation would be an old camera with analog outs that you can route into the mix. Keep an eye out for any vintage camcorders or CCTV cameras that are still semi-functional, they can usually be found for crazy cheap in thrift/repurpose shops if you’re lucky, tripods too. I mainly use them for capturing feedback from CRT displays or projectors, which each have their own flavor of video chaos depending on factors like camera sensor/lens, orientation in front of the display, moving objects between the camera and screen, etc. etc.