Sony AVC-3420CE / AVC-3450CE digital video capture

Hi there, my name is Miki and I’m grateful to have found this forum. I’ve recently developed an interest in analog video and enjoy gaining knowledge in new fields through experimenting and researching specific topics. Although I have no background knowledge in electronics, I have become interested in two cameras: the Sony AVC-3420CE and AVC-3450CE. When I acquired them, I thought about giving them a second life by capturing their output digitally with my ThinkPad. I want to create some kind of modern Portapak. Therefore, I started researching and stumbled upon videolabguy, who makes great videos and has a website with lots of useful information. Especially useful to me is his video series about sync generators and these cameras.

Here is the link to one of his videos: Sync Generator Projects, Part 3 - Sony Cameras AVC-3400 & 3450 - YouTube

However, I haven’t found much information beyond this, so I started anyway. I got myself a 10 Pin EIAJ connector to connect the cameras and made a little contraption to give the camera power through pins 10 and 9, get the video output through pins 1 and 2, and give the camera the vertical and horizontal sync signal through pins 3, 4, and 5.

My first goal was to power these cameras up, which was fairly easy. I got myself a 12V battery to use them on the go, but for testing purposes, I used a 12V power adapter. And well, they seem to work :slight_smile: But this was just the easy part.

The next step was to capture the video output. I got myself a Hauppauge USB-Live2 capturing device and soldered a Cinch connector to pins 1 and 2. When I tried to capture the video signal with OBS, there were massive dropouts, and the capture device seemed to be overwhelmed by the heavily distorted video signal. When I connected the camera directly to a CRT, the image was heavily distorted, but at least it produced an image.