Thoughts on the MX-1?

Hi everyone,

I’m wondering if anyone has experience with the Videonics MX-1. What did you think of it?

I’m just getting into analog video stuff. I was thinking it might be a good starter, since it’s a bit cheaper than other popular models. I won’t be doing any glitch stuff, if that makes a difference. More interested in video art involving feedback, PIP, keying, etc.

Also, I also seem to remember hearing something about people tending to dislike the MX-1. Is this a thing? Why?

1 Like

Here’s a snippet of something I’ve posted elsewhere about it…
Has 4 inputs, it can mix two channels at a time. Preview out for viewing menu or previewing channels.

Heaps of features: Inputs can be assigned to different channels (so the same signal can be processed parallel on multiple channels), add and layer a range of effects per channel, Chroma key, background and border colours, heaps of transition effects with either t-bar control or button trigger with adjustable speed. It’s a bit slow to respond, due to all that processing in a small plastic box… but can do some pretty wild things

That slow response is a bit painful if you’re trying to “perform” with it, ie if you get almost to the edge of the T-bar’s throw it will consider the transition completed then pause for a second before you can transition the other way. If you’re right on the edge of feedback or whatever and it completes the transition you’ll probably lose that magic spot.
That said, because you can parallel process the same input across multiple channels with different effects, it may be a good starting point.
The effects and transitions are good fun, it really imparts its own character on the source material. But yeah, a bit slow to navigate…

2 Likes

The biggest negative is probably that a preview monitor is more or less mandatory since so much functionality is within the on-screen menu.