Introduce yourself!

Hi! initiating a lil introduction thread here. I’m Andrei Jay, i enjoy playing with video feedback systems in analog and digital realms. I’ve been messing around with video art stuff for maybe like 10 years now? got started partially through my habit of finding technology in the garbage and figuring out fun stuffs to do with it. I live in brooklyn NY USA rn and run like workshops and classes for video art stuffs out of my studio (phase.video). my interests include plants, science fiction, looking at clouds, and making cookies. Currently working on learning as much as i can about ADCS and DACS so i can build my own hybrid analog digital signal processing systems. Will soon be digging into FPGA so that I can start rigging up my own framebuffer systems as well. in the meanwhile still also working on seeing how much fun i can squeeze out of the raspberry pi system as a video art tool because its handy to have the adcs and dacs and high level compilers built in for ease of usage and also applying the stuffs i learned from that over to the jetson nano as well with the goals of having a robust and semi modular multi channel frame synchronizer/framebuffer/color space manipulator tool thats designed primarily for video art and not for broadcast zones and is also not like 50 pounds haha. would like to start up some study groups on here for signals and systems/digital communications/information theory/FPGA magic stuffs if anyone else is interested!
vlcsnap-2019-08-19-18h27m20s181 copy

27 Likes

ahoy i am paloma, i think everyone who is here thus far knows who i am but i do work with video and sound and most recently have been experimenting with the crossover between electronic and physical processes and physics of light and sound as part of a thesis i am working on. lately, i’ve shifted main focus away from working with analog video signals and feedback loops, but those ideas are kind of what inform my thinking on everything.