This is a symptom of a larger problem I don't want to be a part of:

genderstats

these are stats from my YouTube channel from over 2k unique viewers in the last 28 days… I thought I was already trying to help fix this by making information more accessible, and also by literally just uploading and sharing my art, so I am slightly confused by this INSANE gender imbalance that still persists to say the least.

I don’t want to go off on too much of a rant but this makes me very mad and frustrated because nothing about what I want to do or create is inherently male. As someone who replied to my story when I posted this put it:

“my theory is that [glitch art] is gardenwalled by guys who are gearheads and more interested in hardware/engineering aspects than creative expression”

I hate that in actuality I’m being lumped in like that; I am an artist first and foremost and not an engineer. To be fair it has taken me a while to get to the point where I can express myself with my tools, so maybe the world still hasn’t gotten over the fact that I’m doing stuff in analog. I’m not trying to attack talented engineers out there making cool discoveries with video, but I certainly don’t want to perpetuate a watered-down culture of art where the ticket to success is buying a museum of gear or just making things that simply revel in their own technical novelty (and once glitch art/video art gets more popular, this novelty will quickly fade).

What do you think?

15 Likes

hi there. first off, i am frustrated by the gender imbalance in electronic media art as well. i could go into that more, but i’m a little bit confused by your question. it seems like you are thinking about it from a few different perspectives: the problems with the field as a whole and what causes this, gatekeeping, etc. on the one hand, and on the other hand, concern about whether you are contributing to the problems.